Paul Kagame Wins the 2017 Election

Share it

Rwanda’s Paul Kagame sweeps polls to secure third term, wins 98.6 percent of vote with 80 percent accounted for by Rwanda’s electoral board.

After 20 years in power, Rwanda President Paul Kagame just seems to be getting more and more popular. The Rwanda electoral commission announced Friday that President Paul Kagame won presidential election with 98.66 percent of the vote, his rivals Phillipe Mpayimana 0.72% and Habineza Frank got Frank Habineza 0.45 percent.

Thousands of Rwandans turned out to vote in polling stations across the country in an election where President Paul Kagame is expected to win his third term by a landslide.

Tallies coming in show that about 5.98million Rwandans votes counted out of 6.9 million expected voters making an 80 percent result tally by day one of the partial results from 2,340 polling stations countrywide,

“Kagame, Paul. Kagame, Paul,” read out election officials from the vast majority of ballots at one polling station in Niboyi sector of Kicukiro district as counting began after a peaceful day of voting across the country.

Rwandans in the diaspora also voted on Thursday in 98 polling stations across the world, with the exception of neighbouring Burundi and Democratic Republic of Congo where Rwanda national electoral commission said security concerns made it difficult to organise safe voting.

Kagame was first appointed as a president by lawmakers in 2000 before being elected in 2003 and again in 2010 with 93.08 percent of votes.

Kagame is credited with a remarkable turnaround of the once a shattered nation, which boasts annual economic growth of about seven percent, is safe, clean and does not tolerate corruption. Rwanda also has the highest number of female lawmakers in the world.

Kagame faced only two challengers: Frank Habineza from the small Democratic Green Party and the only Philippe Mpayimana, a little-known independent candidate and former journalist.

His confidence comes after 98 percent of Rwandans approved a constitutional amendment in a 2015 referendum that granted him the right to run for a third term in office.



About the author

More posts by



You can be the first one to leave a comment.

Leave a Comment




Warning: Illegal string offset 'id' in /home/wp_ts2em7/ on line 4

Warning: Illegal string offset 'id' in /home/wp_ts2em7/ on line 4

Warning: Illegal string offset 'id' in /home/wp_ts2em7/ on line 4